Tag Archives: science fiction

Bookshop in July 2018

Some of my book cover designs spotted standing tall at various bookshops.

Owen Gent was the illustrator of Sjón’s previous novel, Moonstone. And it was great to team up with him again for CoDex 1962. He has done a fantastic job of developing my concept and design forwards. As always using delicious colour combinations! The below photo is from Foyles in Stratford.

Record of a Spaceborn Few with its colourful starry sky, is also in Foyles. This book has recently become The Sunday Times UK top ten bestseller!

The sunny weather and ice cream season requires a good looking summery cover. As demonstrated by the lovely book, The Beginning of the World in the Middle of the Night PB.

The vibrant yellow paperback of In Every Moment We Are Still Alive is in Liverpool Street station’s Pocket Shop.

Advertisements

2 Comments

Filed under Book Design, Design, Illustration

Becky Chambers Reads Record of a Spaceborn Few!

Lovely author, Becky Chambers came into read and sign books for a Record of a Spaceborn Few. Was a great pleasure meeting her after having fun designing her book cover!

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Reading, Book Design, Design

Emily Eternal: Animated cover

Yayyyyyyyyyy!!!!!!!!!! Emily Eternal book now has its own animation!!!!!!!!!! See below post for more information about this excellent book with themes of artificial intelligence and a dying Sun.

2 Comments

Filed under Book Design, Design, Illustration

Emily Eternal Cover Reveal

Ooooooooooooooooo my book cover design and illustration for Emily Eternal was revealed on Hodderscape!!! Such an exciting book and project to work on and I’m super pleased with the results and the positive reaction I have received. See full article here: https://www.hodderscape.co.uk/cover-reveal-emily-eternal-by-m-g-wheaton/?utm_content=&utm_source=twitter&utm_medium=Hodderscape&utm_campaign=Falcon

Read more about the book here:

Meet Emily – she can solve advanced mathematical problems, unlock the mind’s deepest secrets and even fix your truck’s air con, but unfortunately, she can’t restart the Sun.

She’s an artificial consciousness, designed in a lab to help humans process trauma, which is particularly helpful when the sun begins to die 5 billion years before scientists agreed it was supposed to.

So, her beloved human race is screwed, and so is Emily. That is, until she finds a potential answer buried deep in the human genome. But before her solution can be tested, her lab is brutally attacked, and Emily is forced to go on the run with two human companions – college student Jason and small-town Sheriff, Mayra.

As the sun’s death draws near, Emily and her friends must race against time to save humanity. But before long it becomes clear that it’s not only the species at stake, but also that which makes us most human.

 

It has been described as perfect for fans of Becky Chambers who is the author of The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet and Record of a Spaceborn Few. Pre-order now or buy when it publishes in April 2019!

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Design, Design, Illustration

Record of a Spaceborn Few Cover Reveal

Hurray – my cover design for Record of a Spaceborn Few was revealed on Friday!! See the article from Hodderscape: https://www.hodderscape.co.uk/cover-reveal-record-of-a-spaceborn-few-by-becky-chambers/?utm_content=RecordOfASpacebornFew%252CBeckyChambers%252CHodder%252CHodderscape&utm_source=twitter&utm_campaign=Falcon&utm_medium=Hodderscape

I enjoyed experimenting with an explosion of colour for this cover!

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Design, Design, Photography