Category Archives: Illustration

A Literary Conversation with May-Lan Tan, Eley Williams and Chris Power

Waterstones in Crouch End had an event with a conversation between May-Lan Tan (author of Things to Make and Break), Eley Williams (author of Attrib) and Chris Power (author of Mothers) about the power of short stories. The interviewer was Francine Toon editor of Things to Make and Break. It was really interesting hearing from each author and the links/themes between them. More info on the link below:

https://www.waterstones.com/events/an-evening-with-may-lan-tan/london-crouch-end

I loved seeing my book cover design stacked up with two other good looking book covers.

And I finally got to meet the lovely author May-Lan. I’m such a fan of her book, so it was nice to have a chat with her.

Photo taken from the Waterstones Instagram account and a great choice of matching pastel flowers with my cover.

More about Things to Make and Break:

A motorcycle courier finds a cache of nude photos in her boyfriend’s desk. The daughter of East German emigrants encounters her doppelganger, who has crossed another cultural divide. Twin brothers fall for the same girl. When a stripper receives an enigmatic proposal from a client, she accepts, ignorant of its terms.

Shadows, doubles, and the ghosts of past and future lovers haunt these elegantly structured and often hallucinatory stories. The language is hypnotic, deadpan, intense; the sentences jewel-hard and sublime. Things to Make and Break is the work of a stylish, exuberant new voice in modern fiction.

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Design, Design, Illustration

Emily Eternal: Animated cover

Yayyyyyyyyyy!!!!!!!!!! Emily Eternal book now has its own animation!!!!!!!!!! See below post for more information about this excellent book with themes of artificial intelligence and a dying Sun.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Design, Design, Illustration

Emily Eternal Cover Reveal

Ooooooooooooooooo my book cover design and illustration for Emily Eternal was revealed on Hodderscape!!! Such an exciting book and project to work on and I’m super pleased with the results and the positive reaction I have received. See full article here: https://www.hodderscape.co.uk/cover-reveal-emily-eternal-by-m-g-wheaton/?utm_content=&utm_source=twitter&utm_medium=Hodderscape&utm_campaign=Falcon

Read more about the book here:

Meet Emily – she can solve advanced mathematical problems, unlock the mind’s deepest secrets and even fix your truck’s air con, but unfortunately, she can’t restart the Sun.

She’s an artificial consciousness, designed in a lab to help humans process trauma, which is particularly helpful when the sun begins to die 5 billion years before scientists agreed it was supposed to.

So, her beloved human race is screwed, and so is Emily. That is, until she finds a potential answer buried deep in the human genome. But before her solution can be tested, her lab is brutally attacked, and Emily is forced to go on the run with two human companions – college student Jason and small-town Sheriff, Mayra.

As the sun’s death draws near, Emily and her friends must race against time to save humanity. But before long it becomes clear that it’s not only the species at stake, but also that which makes us most human.

 

It has been described as perfect for fans of Becky Chambers who is the author of The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet and Record of a Spaceborn Few. Pre-order now or buy when it publishes in April 2019!

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Design, Design, Illustration

These Dividing Walls in Print

These Dividing Walls hardback and paperback is now available. Final book is printed with matt lamination and spot UV. The paperback has inside cover printing with one Pantone colour.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Design, Design, Illustration

Should You Ask me PB in Print

Should You Ask Me paperback is now available in print. A different photographic cover direction to the illustrative hardback. But both approaches work very well for the novel.

About the book:

‘I’ve come about the bodies. I know who they are.’

Just before D-Day in 1944, on the Isle of Purbeck in Dorset, an elderly woman walks into a police station. She has information, she says, about human remains recently discovered nearby.

The bodies could have stayed buried for ever – like the pain and passion that put them there. But Mary Holmes is finally ready to tell the truth.

The young constable sent to take her statement is still suffering from the injuries that ended his army career. As he tries to make sense of her tale, William finds himself increasingly distracted. Mary’s confession forces his own violent memories to the surface – betrayals and regrets as badly healed as his war wounds.

Over six days, as pressure builds for the final push in Europe, two lives reveal their secrets. Should You Ask Me is a captivating story about people at their worst and best: raw, rich, and utterly compelling.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Design, Illustration, Photography, Typography

The Two Houses in Print

Another Yorkshire based novel that I have designed! It is set in the desolate and earthy moors where secrets are being hidden. This is cleverly written with the metaphor between the unsettling atmosphere of the abandoned, crumbling, Victorian house with the cracked pottery the ceramicist creates. Gorgeous writing from a lovely author!

I really enjoyed designing this one and I’m pleased with the final product printed on uncoated stock with a double hit of spot uv. Plus black foil on grey wibalin works a treat!

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Design, Illustration

Springtime at Wildacre PB out for the Sunny Weather!

Yesssssssss!!!!! Copies of Springtime at Wildacre paperback out now in time for the sunny weather. Another gorgeous illustration by Sara Mulvanny and this cover doesn’t disappoint with piglets, ducklings, lambs, and bunnies!! Final printed product complete with shimmering pink foil, emboss and spot uv.

AND there will be a fourth book coming out in November: Snowflakes Over Moon Cottage!

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Design, Design, Illustration