Category Archives: Design

Bookshop in July 2018

Some of my book cover designs spotted standing tall at various bookshops.

Owen Gent was the illustrator of Sjón’s previous novel, Moonstone. And it was great to team up with him again for CoDex 1962. He has done a fantastic job of developing my concept and design forwards. As always using delicious colour combinations! The below photo is from Foyles in Stratford.

Record of a Spaceborn Few with its colourful starry sky, is also in Foyles. This book has recently become The Sunday Times UK top ten bestseller!

The sunny weather and ice cream season requires a good looking summery cover. As demonstrated by the lovely book, The Beginning of the World in the Middle of the Night PB.

The vibrant yellow paperback of In Every Moment We Are Still Alive is in Liverpool Street station’s Pocket Shop.

Advertisements

2 Comments

Filed under Book Design, Design, Illustration

Becky Chambers Reads Record of a Spaceborn Few!

Lovely author, Becky Chambers came into read and sign books for a Record of a Spaceborn Few. Was a great pleasure meeting her after having fun designing her book cover!

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Reading, Book Design, Design

A Literary Conversation with May-Lan Tan, Eley Williams and Chris Power

Waterstones in Crouch End had an event with a conversation between May-Lan Tan (author of Things to Make and Break), Eley Williams (author of Attrib) and Chris Power (author of Mothers) about the power of short stories. The interviewer was Francine Toon editor of Things to Make and Break. It was really interesting hearing from each author and the links/themes between them. More info on the link below:

https://www.waterstones.com/events/an-evening-with-may-lan-tan/london-crouch-end

I loved seeing my book cover design stacked up with two other good looking book covers.

And I finally got to meet the lovely author May-Lan. I’m such a fan of her book, so it was nice to have a chat with her.

Photo taken from the Waterstones Instagram account and a great choice of matching pastel flowers with my cover.

More about Things to Make and Break:

A motorcycle courier finds a cache of nude photos in her boyfriend’s desk. The daughter of East German emigrants encounters her doppelganger, who has crossed another cultural divide. Twin brothers fall for the same girl. When a stripper receives an enigmatic proposal from a client, she accepts, ignorant of its terms.

Shadows, doubles, and the ghosts of past and future lovers haunt these elegantly structured and often hallucinatory stories. The language is hypnotic, deadpan, intense; the sentences jewel-hard and sublime. Things to Make and Break is the work of a stylish, exuberant new voice in modern fiction.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Design, Design, Illustration

Emily Eternal: Animated cover

Yayyyyyyyyyy!!!!!!!!!! Emily Eternal book now has its own animation!!!!!!!!!! See below post for more information about this excellent book with themes of artificial intelligence and a dying Sun.

2 Comments

Filed under Book Design, Design, Illustration

Emily Eternal Cover Reveal

Ooooooooooooooooo my book cover design and illustration for Emily Eternal was revealed on Hodderscape!!! Such an exciting book and project to work on and I’m super pleased with the results and the positive reaction I have received. See full article here: https://www.hodderscape.co.uk/cover-reveal-emily-eternal-by-m-g-wheaton/?utm_content=&utm_source=twitter&utm_medium=Hodderscape&utm_campaign=Falcon

Read more about the book here:

Meet Emily – she can solve advanced mathematical problems, unlock the mind’s deepest secrets and even fix your truck’s air con, but unfortunately, she can’t restart the Sun.

She’s an artificial consciousness, designed in a lab to help humans process trauma, which is particularly helpful when the sun begins to die 5 billion years before scientists agreed it was supposed to.

So, her beloved human race is screwed, and so is Emily. That is, until she finds a potential answer buried deep in the human genome. But before her solution can be tested, her lab is brutally attacked, and Emily is forced to go on the run with two human companions – college student Jason and small-town Sheriff, Mayra.

As the sun’s death draws near, Emily and her friends must race against time to save humanity. But before long it becomes clear that it’s not only the species at stake, but also that which makes us most human.

 

It has been described as perfect for fans of Becky Chambers who is the author of The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet and Record of a Spaceborn Few. Pre-order now or buy when it publishes in April 2019!

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Design, Design, Illustration

Memory of Fire in Print

This is already out, so I’m a bit late posting this! But when I received my advanced copy of the book, I was really very happy with it. Topped off with a lovely acknowledgement from the author! The cover design was an absolute joy to work on and great to continue on the series design from the first book: The Waking Land.

2 Comments

Filed under Book Design, Design, Photography

NIV Ruby Bibles Coming Soon…

I recently got some wet proofs in for the NIV Ruby Journalling Bible. This is CMYK printed directly on to silver foiled paper creating a sophisticated and shimmering ruby effect – wowee!!! The final product will have an additional debossing special finish.

There will also be two other editions of the NIV Ruby Bibles (Thinline and Pocket) which have other unusual finishes. The reason for such extravagance is that New International Version Bibles will be celebrating its 40th Anniversary and glistening rubies are the perfect jewel to mark the occasion.

I can’t wait to see the three finished products in September 2019. It is going to look spectacular!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Design, Design